AFN National Chief Cindy Woodhouse Nepinak Congratulates Newly Elected Anishinabek Nation Grand Council Chief Linda Debassige

Published: Jun 05, 2024Press Release

(June 5, 2024 – Unceded Algonquin Territory, Ottawa, ON) – Assembly of First Nations (AFN) National Chief Cindy Woodhouse Nepinak extended her congratulations and best wishes today to newly elected Grand Council Chief Linda Debassige, the first Anishinaabekwe to hold the position of Grand Council Chief for Anishinabek Nation.

“It is an honour to recognize Grand Council Chief Linda Debassige’s historic election. Having served as Gimaa Kwe of M’Chigeeng First Nation for nearly a decade, Grand Council Chief Debassige brings years of dedication and leadership to First Nations. Her advocacy efforts, particularly in advancing priorities, such as the right to safe drinking water, have been critically important to our Nations. I look forward to her continued leadership within the Anishinabek Nation.

I would also like to extend congratulations to Chris Plain, the newly elected Deputy Grand Council Chief, and express my gratitude to former Grand Council Chief Reg Niganobe for his service and contributions to Anishinabek Nation. I wish him the best in his future endeavors.”


The Assembly of First Nations (AFN) is a national advocacy organization that works to advance the collective aspirations of First Nations individuals and communities across Canada on matters of national or international nature and concern.

Contact information:

Kelly Reid
Senior Communications Officer
Assembly of First Nations
(613) 292-0857 (mobile)
[email protected]