Assembly of First Nations Election 2018 Announcement of Candidates for the Office of the National Chief

Published: Jun 20, 2018News

OTTAWA, ON June 20, 2018 – The Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, responsible for the July election of the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) National Chief, has received nomination papers in proper form from the following persons, listed below in alphabetical order by last name: 

  1. Bellegarde, Perry (Incumbent) – SK
  2. Diabo, Russ – QC
  3. North, Sheila – MB
  4. Richardson, Miles – BC
  5. Whitecloud, Katherine – MB

According to the AFN Charter, an Eligible Candidate must:

  • Be eighteen (18) years of age or older;
  • Be of First Nations ancestry;
  • Be a member of a First Nation community, in good standing with the AFN; and
  • Have 15 eligible electors, First Nations Chiefs, endorse their candidacy.

The 2018 Election for the Office of the National Chief will take place on Wednesday, July 25, 2018 during the AFN Annual General Assembly (AGA). The 2018 AGA is taking place at the Vancouver Convention Centre in Vancouver, British Columbia on July 24-26, 2018.

The AFN Charter, Article 22 states that the National Chief shall be elected by a majority of sixty (60) percent of the votes. There are 636 voting members of the Assembly of First Nations. The Assembly of First Nations is the national organization representing First Nation citizens in Canada.

Below is the campaign contact information for each candidate:

Mr. Perry Bellegarde
Media Contact: Jamie Monastyrski
Tel.: 613-612-7229
Email: [email protected]

Mr. Russ Diabo
Campaign Manager: Joanna Anaquod
Email: [email protected]

Ms. Sheila North
Campaign Manager: Jennifer Wood
Tel.: 204-805-2325
Email: [email protected]

Mr. Miles Richardson
Campaign Manager: Rita Kompst
Tel.: 604-734-5906
Email: [email protected]

Ms. Katherine Whitecloud
Email: [email protected]

For more information, please contact:

Loretta J. Pete Lambert,
AFN Chief Electoral Officer: 613-241-6789 ext. 133
or [email protected]

Jessica Quinn,
Assistant to the AFN Chief Electoral Officer: 613-241-6789 ext. 110
or [email protected]