Assembly of First Nations Election 2023: Announcement of Candidates for the Office of the National Chief

Published: Nov 02, 2023Press Release

(Ottawa, Unceded Algonquin Territory, Ontario) The Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, responsible for the election of the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) National Chief, has received nomination papers in proper form from the following persons listed below, in alphabetical order by last name: 

  1. Bellerose, Reginald – SK 
  2. Makinaw, Craig – AB 
  3. North, Sheila (Wikahsko Iskwew) – MB 
  4. Pratt, David – SK 
  5. Sayers, Dean – ON 
  6. Woodhouse, Cindy – MB 

According to the AFN Charter, an Eligible Candidate must: 

  • Be eighteen (18) years of age or older; 
  • Be of First Nations ancestry; 
  • Be a member of a First Nations community, in good standing with the AFN; and 
  • Have 15 eligible electors, First Nations Chiefs, endorse their candidacy. 

The 2023 Election for the Office of the National Chief will take place on Wednesday, December 6, 2023, during the AFN Special Chiefs Assembly (SCA). The SCA will be conducted in a hybrid format, both virtually and in person, at the Shaw Centre in Ottawa, Ontario, from December 5-7, 2023. 

The AFN Charter, states that “The winner of the election shall be that person who first gains a majority of sixty (60) per cent of the votes of the representatives of Members who are registered at the Assembly.” Pursuant to Resolution 34/2023, the term of the next National Chief has been adjusted to expire in the month of July 2027, extending the term of office to three years and six months. 

General Inquiries: 

Please contact [email protected] or visit for more details. 

Media Inquiries: 

Please contact candidates directly for media inquiries using the campaign contact information provided below:

Campaign Manager: Bronte Prosser
Email: [email protected] 
Phone: 306-270-7405

Campaign Contact: Lowa Beebe
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 403-852-8181

Campaign Chair: Sheila Musqua Keewatin
Email: [email protected] 
Phone: 877-323-5080

Campaign Contact: Brianna Verhelst
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 306-530-2331

Campaign Manager: Doug Dokis
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 705-845-0126

Campaign Manager: Jayde Chingee
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 204-918-7802