Cindy Woodhouse Elected as National Chief of Assembly of First Nations

Published: Dec 07, 2023Press Release

(Ottawa, Unceded Algonquin Territory, Ontario) – Cindy Woodhouse has been elected as the National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations (AFN). Cindy Woodhouse was elected following David Pratt’s concession after six ballots conducted on Wednesday, December 6, 2023. Cindy Woodhouse previously served as Assembly of Regional Chief, Manitoba.

Six candidates ran for the position of AFN National Chief, with 461 electors registered to vote via the Simply Voting platform.

“I am honoured that the Chiefs-in-Assembly have placed their trust in me to lead the Assembly of First Nations and I want to thank my fellow candidates who put their names forward,” said newly-elected National Chief Cindy Woodhouse. “My commitment to them is to advocate on behalf of all our communities and to improve life for all First Nations. That advocacy starts with accountability, transparency and dialogue. I look forward to working alongside the AFN Executive Committee on advancing our priorities in each region. There is much work to do and I am eager to get started on behalf of all our people.”

Following the final ballot results, National Chief Cindy Woodhouse participated in the Oath of Office ceremony to officially assume the position of National Chief for the Assembly of First Nations.


The Assembly of First Nations (AFN) is a national advocacy organization that works to advance the collective aspirations of First Nations individuals and communities across Canada on matters of national or international nature and concern. Follow AFN on X @AFN_Updates.

Contact Information:

Genna Benson
Director of Communications
Assembly of First Nations
604-340-3117 (mobile)
[email protected]

Kelly Reid
Senior Communications Officer
Assembly of First Nations
(613) 292-0857 (mobile)
[email protected]