“The Glass Ceiling has been Broken!” – RoseAnne Archibald Voted in as First Woman National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations

Published: Jul 09, 2021News

Assembly of First Nations (AFN) Chiefs-in-Assembly today elected RoseAnne Archibald as National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations at the 42nd Annual General Assembly held virtually this week and hosted by Six Nations of the Grand River and Mississaugas of the Credit in Ontario.

National Chief RoseAnne Archibald will address media at a virtual press conference Friday.

DATE: Friday July 9, 2021
TIME: 10:00 a.m. ET
LINK: Zoom meeting
Meeting ID: 945 0354 3746
Passcode: 325580

In a “herstorical”/historical unprecedented election, National Chief Archibald was elected following five ballot results and after candidate Reginald Bellerose conceded and is now the first woman elected into the National Chief position. 406 Chiefs and proxies were registered to vote in this AFN election. 350 Chiefs and proxies voted in the fifth ballot. Seven candidates stood for election as National Chief.

Close to 2,000 First Nations leaders, Elders, women, youth and veterans from coast to coast to coast gathered virtually this week with the focus on honouring children lost to residential schools, maintaining momentum of recent progress on First Nations priorities and electing a new National Chief. The AGA concluded today.

The Assembly of First Nations is the national organization representing First Nations citizens in Canada. Follow AFN on Twitter @AFN_Comms, @AFN_Updates.


Contact information:

Lori Kittelberg
Communications Officer
Assembly of First Nations
604-340-3117 (mobile)
[email protected]

Kelly Reid
Communications Officer
Assembly of First Nations
613-292-0857 (mobile)
[email protected]