Developing strategies and framing climate discourse to bolster First Nations’ voices in Climate Change.

Member Composition A partnership between First Nations and federal government officials to create space for First Nations in federal programs and policies.

Co-chaired by Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) and the Assembly of First Nations (AFN), the JCCA membership includes each regional AFN affiliate, as well as different government ministries.

The JCCA is composed of national and regional First Nations representatives and Government of Canada senior officials (Director to ADM level) across multiple departments responsible for implementing clean growth and climate change programs and policies.

Collectively, the JCCA brings considerable experience and diverse expertise related to the development and implementation of federal climate-related programs and policies; First Nations climate action and priorities; and building partnerships between First Nations and the Government of Canada.

Co-Chairs Leadership that ensures our team meets strategic goals.

Dr. Tonio Sadik
Senior Director of Environment, Lands and Waters
Assembly of First Nations 

Mr. Vince Ngan
Assistant Deputy Minister, Climate Change Branch
Environment and Climate Change Canada

First Nations Member Representatives Representing First Nations from coast-to-coast-to-coast in federal climate policy and programming.

Dr. Adam Fenech

Mentor on Climate, Nature and Water, PEI Office of the Regional Chief Inc.

Joe Tomah

Regional Climate Change Coordinator, Woodstock First Nation, NB

Lisa Young

Unama'ki Institute of Natural Resources (UINR)

Melissa Nevin

Director of Fisheries and Integrated Resources, Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nations Chiefs Secretariat (APC)

Jérémie Caron

Climate Change Project Leader, First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Sustainable Development Institute (FNQLSDI)

Andréanne Ferland

Climate Change and Energy Coordinator, The First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Sustainable Development Institute (FNQLSDI)

Kathleen Padulo

Director of Environment, Chiefs of Ontario (COO)

Amanda Mclean

Regional Climate Change Coordinator, Interlakes Reserve Tribal Council (IRTC)

Wendy Quewezance

Senior Policy Analyst, Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations (FSIN)

Patricia Rojas Caro

Policy Analyst and Regional Climate Change Coordinator, British Columbia Assembly of First Nations

Norma Kassi

Director of Indigenous Collaboration, Arctic Institute of Community-Based Research

Nona Whitehouse

Reconnection Vision and Communications Coordinator, Assembly of First Nations Yukon Region

Elder Lorraine Netro

AFN Circle of Experts, Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation, Old Crow, Yukon

Trevor Teed

Director of Lands and Environment, Dene Nation

Governance Structure How our stakeholders interact and report to each other.

  • Reports to
  • Interacts with/informs

Sign up for our Newsletter

View Allarrow_forward

Get the latest updates from the AFN in your inbox.

Contact Us

Reach out to the JCCA

Assembly of First Nations

55 Metcalfe Street, Suite 1600

Ottawa, Ontario K1P 6L5

Map & Directions

Tel: +1 (613) 241-6789
Toll-free: +1 (866) 869-6789

Fax: +1 (613) 241-5808

To top